Global Textbook Resource Center (GLOTREC)

GLOTREC is a central strategic undertaking that consolidates the GEI’s capabilities in the fields of digitisation, internationalisation and applied inter and transdisciplinary research. It is structured around the academic requirements of educational media research, a field that involves many different disciplines and methodological approaches. GLOTREC brings together the GEI’s expertise and educational media collections with those of other international libraries and research institutions.

Objectives

To integrate textbook and educational media collections available around the world

A digital, and consequently non-localised, multi-lingual catalogue that homogenises the diverse (meta) data from various libraries and brings together widely dispersed collections of analogue and digital educational media to form a standardised and expandable reference system. The catalogue will provide a research instrument with which users can conduct multilingual searches tailored to the specific requirements of educational media research. Interfaces will provide access to digital tools enabling users to further process the data provided by the catalogue.

To protect cultural heritage and make resources available to researchers.

The unique collections held by the research library at the GEI are being successively digitised and preserved for posterity as an important part of our cultural heritage. The GLOTREC catalogue will provide researchers with access to the digitised volumes and to current digital educational media, subject to copyright regulations. Digitised, licence-free educational media from our partners will also be integrated and made available. This will lead to the creation of a comprehensive digital library that will provide large amounts of high-quality, international and multilingual data as a unique source of material for the fields of (digital) humanities and cultural studies as well as for social and information sciences and information technology.

The development of a research-based infrastructure

From 2021, a humanities-based junior research group will accompany the development of the infrastructure and will use and evaluate the available products. The academics will generate new research questions and innovative research designs based on GLOTREC’s comprehensive data and will apply their expertise to the research-based and user-oriented development of the GEI’s digital products.

Start-up phase 2020 to 2022

The core part of the start-up phase, which will run until 2022, will be the construction of a technical infrastructure, which will enable the digital products developed by the GEI to be targeted in future towards the dynamically evolving needs of educational media research. In addition, workflows will be established for interdisciplinary and international collaborative work at the GEI and among the associated partners while further textbook collections from our international partners will be successively processed and integrated into the catalogue.

Global Textbook Resource Center (GLOTREC)

GLOTREC als eine zentrale strategische Maßnahme stärkt am GEI die Bereiche Digitalisie­rung, Internationalisierung und anwendungsbezogene inter- und transdisziplinäre For­schung. Es berücksichtigt und erfüllt die wissenschaftlichen Bedarfe der Bildungsmedienforschung, die sich über eine Vielzahl von Disziplinen und methodischen Zugänge erstreckt. Dafür vereint GLOTREC die Expertise und die Bildungsmedienbestände des GEI mit denen internationaler Bibliotheken und Forschungsinstitutionen.

Ziele

  • Zusammenführung weltweit vorhandener Schulbuch- und Bildungsmediensammlungen

Ein digitaler und damit ortsungebundener, mehrsprachiger Katalog homoge­nisiert die diversen (Meta-)Daten unterschiedlicher Bibliotheken und weist die weltweit verstreuten Bestände an analogen und digitalen Bildungs­medien standardisiert und erweiterbar nach. Als Recher­che­instrument bietet der Katalog Nutzer*innen auf die Bildungsmedienforschung zugeschnittene, auch mehrsprachige Suchoptionen. Schnitt­stel­len ermöglichen eine direk­te Weiterverarbeitung der über den Katalog nachgewiesenen Daten mit digitalen Werkzeugen.

  • Sicherung des kulturellen Erbes und Bereitstellung für die Forschung

Der einzigartige Bestand der Forschungsbibliothek des GEI wird sukzessive digitalisiert und als kulturelles Erbe für die Nach­welt gesichert. GLOTREC wird die bereits digitalisierten Bände über den Katalog nachweisen und ebenso wie aktuelle digitale Bildungsmedien unter Wahrung der Schutzrechte für die Forschung zugänglich machen. Parallel erfolgt die Einbindung und Be­reitstellung von digitalisier­ten, lizenzfreien Bildungsmedien der Kooperationspartner. Perspektivisch entsteht eine umfangreiche digi­tale Bibliothek, die große, qualitativ hochwertige, inter­nationale und multilinguale Datenmengen als einzigartige Quellen für die (digitalen) Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften, aber auch für die Sozial- und Informa­tionswissenschaften sowie die Informatik anbietet.

  • Forschungsbasierte Weiterentwicklung der Infrastrukturen 

Eine geisteswissenschaftlich ausgerichtete Junior Research Group wird ab 2021 die Weiterent­wicklung der Infrastrukturen begleiten, die Angebote nutzen und evaluieren. Die Wissenschaftler*innen werden aus dem umfangreichen Datenbestand von GLOTREC neue Forschungsfragen und innovative Forschungsdesigns generieren und ihre dabei gewonnene Expertise unmittelbar in die forschungsbasierte und bedarfsorientierte Weiterentwicklung der digitalen Angebote des GEI einbringen.

Aufbauphase 2020 bis 2022

Im Zentrum der Aufbauphase bis 2022 steht die Einrichtung einer technischen Infrastruktur-Architektur, die auch in Zukunft eine zielgerichtete Weiterentwicklung der digitalen Angebote des GEI entlang der sich dynamisch entwickelnden Bedarfe der Bildungsmedienforschung ermöglicht. Daneben werden Workflows für das disziplinen- und länderübergreifende kollaborative Arbeiten im GEI und im Verbund etabliert sowie sukzessive weitere Schulbuchbestände der internationalen Partner erschlossen und in den Katalog integriert.