Batol Kobeissi

Batol Kobeissi has worked as a researcher at the Georg Eckert Institute since December 2018 in the joint research project: ‚Islamic Religious Education Lessons: How a new subject is negotiated, taught and practiced’ (IRU-AWA). This interdisciplinary project is run by the Media and/in Transformations and also Knowledge in Transition departments and is divided into two studies. Batol Kobeissi is responsible for the study investigating classroom practices in schools in Lower Saxony.

Batol Kobeissi studied for a dual bachelor’s degree in political science and Arabic and Islamic studies at the University of Göttingen between 2011 and 2015. Her dissertation examined the compatibility of democracy and Islam. She completed her master’s degree in ‘Politics and Economy of the Middle East’ at the Phillips-Universität Marburg. While working on her dissertation she travelled to Lebanon to research the women of Hezbollah. During her studies she specialised in Muslim minorities, women in Islam and hegemonistic conflict in the Middle East.

Prior to her studies and while studying, Batol Kobeissi had several part-time and voluntary positions. She worked as a journalist, for example, and as a student researcher as well as teaching Arabic and interpreting.

Batol Kobeissi

Seit Dezember 2018 ist Batol Kobeissi am Georg-Eckert-Institut als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin für das Projekt „Islamischer Religionsunterricht: Aushandlung, Vermittlung und Aneignung eines neuen Faches“ angestellt. Das Projekt IRU-AVA ist interdisziplinär sowohl in der Abteilung Mediale Transformationen als auch in der Abteilung Wissen im Umbruch angesiedelt und ist in zwei Teilstudien unterteilt. Batol forscht zur zweiten Teilstudie, in deren Rahmen das Unterrichtsgeschehen an niedersächsischen Schulen näher untersucht wird.

Batol studierte zwischen 2011 und 2015 den zwei-Fach-Bachelor Politikwissenschaft und Arabistik/Islamwissenschaft an der Georg-August-Universität (in Göttingen). In ihrer Bachelorarbeit befasste sie sich mit der Kompatibilität von Demokratie und Islam. Den Master absolvierte sie an der Philipps-Universität Marburg im Studiengang „Politik und Wirtschaft des Nahen und Mittleren Ostens“. Für die Masterarbeit ging Batol in den Libanon und forschte über die Frauen in der Hisbollah. Im Laufe ihres Studiums spezialisierte sie sich auf muslimische Minderheiten, Frauen im Islam und auf den Hegemonialkonflikt im Nahen Osten.

Vor und während des Studiums übte Batol mehrere Nebentätigkeiten und Ehrenämter aus. Zum Beispiel war sie als Journalistin, studentische Hilfskraft, Deutsch- sowie Arabischlehrerin und Dolmetscherin tätig.