Flagships

GLOBAL TEXTBOOK RESOURCE CENTER (GLOTREC)

GLOTREC consolidates the Georg Eckert Institute’s position at the centre of international educational media research. Cooperative agreements with other institutions around the world enable GLOTREC to combine the GEI’s expertise and educational media collections with those of other renowned international libraries and research institutions in order to promote interdisciplinary, cross-border and multi-lingual research and to conserve educational media as an important part of our cultural heritage.

LEIBNIZ SCIENCE CAMPUS – POSTDIGITAL PARTICIPATION – BRAUNSCHWEIG

The Leibniz ScienceCampus – Postdigital Participation – Braunschweig uses social living labs to research the potential for social participation in education and urban communal living among different user groups in a world now shaped by hybrid analogue and digital technology and practices.

RESEARCH TOOLBOX

The research toolbox is a functionally flexible digital system that allows researchers, developers and librarians to collate digital texts for specific projects or corpora and to add elements such as machine readable information, or to analyse them, using different software components.

TEXTBOOK COMMISSIONS

The textbook commissions coordinated by the GEI and supported by the foreign office represent the roots of the Institute in international textbook revision like no other area. They uniquely combine research and knowledge transfer and serve as the models for bi- and multilateral projects in the field of textbook cooperation worldwide.

THE BASEMENT - THE GEI’S DIGITAL LAB

Test the future: the Basement is a space that is open to anyone interested in testing and researching digital education or collaborating on critically reflected designs for digital education. It is a space where routines are broken down and assumptions are questioned. Researchers and practitioners use ethnographic, speculative, de-colonial and participative methods to pose questions that open creative and critical perspectives on digital educational media. We also reflect upon current solutions for public (digital) learning processes.

Flagships

GLOBAL TEXTBOOK RESOURCE CENTER (GLOTREC)

GLOTREC stärkt die zentrale Stellung des Georg-Eckert-Instituts im Bereich der internationalen Bildungsmedienforschung. Durch institutionelle Kooperationen vereint GLOTREC die Expertise und die Bildungsmedienbestände des GEI mit denen von weltweit renommierten Bibliotheken und Forschungsinstitutionen, um diszplinen-, länder- und sprachübergreifende Forschungen zu fördern und Bildungsmedien als kulturelles Erbe zu sichern.

LEIBNIZ-WISSENSCHAFTSCAMPUS – POSTDIGITALE PARTIZIPATION – BRAUNSCHWEIG

Der Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus – Postdigitale Partizipation – Braunschweig erforscht in Social Living Labs unter Einbeziehung verschiedener Nutzergruppen die Möglichkeiten gesellschaftlicher Teilhabe in Bildung und städtischem Zusammenleben in einer Welt, in der hybride analog-digitale Technologien und Praktiken unseren Alltag prägen.

RESEARCH TOOLBOX

Die Research Toolbox ist ein funktional erweiterbares, digitales System, das es Forscher*innen, Entwickler*innen und Bibliothekar*innen erlaubt, digitale Texte zu projekt- bzw. themenspezifischen Korpora zusammenzustellen und diese mit Hilfe verschiedener Softwarekomponenten mit zum Teil maschinenlesbaren Informationen anzureichern und zu analysieren.

SCHULBUCHKOMMISSIONEN

Die vom GEI koordinierten und vom Auswärtigen Amt geförderten Schulbuchkommissionen stehen wie kein zweiter Bereich für die Wurzeln des Instituts in der internationalen Schulbuchrevision. Sie verbinden Forschung und Transfer auf besondere Weise und dienen als Modell für bi- und multilaterale Projekte der Schulbuchzusammenarbeit weltweit.

THE BASEMENT. DAS DIGITAL LAB DES GEI

Zukünfte ausprobieren: The Basement ist ein offener Raum für alle, die digitale Bildung selbst erproben, erforschen und miteinander kritisch-reflexiv gestalten möchten. Es ist ein Raum, in dem Routinen durchbrochen und Selbstverständlichkeiten hinterfragt werden. Mit ethnographischen, spekulativen, dekolonialen und partizipativen Methoden stellen Forscher*innen und Praktiker*innen vielfältige Fragen, die kreative und kritische Perspektiven auf digitale Bildungsmedien eröffnen. Wir reflektieren aktuelle Lösungen für offene (digitale) Lernprozesse.