Research Toolbox

Digital technologies enable global access to important source material and collections and have enormous potential for those working in the area of educational media research. Using computer-aided analytical processes developed by computer linguists and information technologists it is possible to search large amounts of texts for recurring patterns, linguistic anomalies or specific themes and to draw comparisons.

The Research Toolbox provides researchers, developers and librarians with a digital system to which additional functionalities can be added and which enables them to collate digital texts related to specific projects or thematic corpora and, using a range of software components, to augment the material with elements of machine-readable information and to analyse it. The Research Toolbox also allows an individual and flexible combination of the specific methods required in each case.

Computer technologists and humanities researchers at the GEI started developing the Toolbox in 2018 and it is been implemented in a number of current projects. Detailed documentation has been produced as well as many examples of use and in the future there will be a multi-lingual user interface and further analytical tools.

A role and rights management tool in the Research Toolbox will enable users to load copyright-protected texts or sensitive research data onto the platform which can then be processed within individual projects or compiled for specific corpora. The material can be edited within the team or released to third parties for further processing.

Objectives

  • To provide a secure and stable infrastructure – enabling the aggregation and processing of digital texts
  • To develop tools that allow linguistic preparation/annotation of digital texts and which take into account the specific qualities of educational media.
  • To provide an environment in which different software modules can either be used independently of one another or combined
  • To provide quantitative analysis and personalised corpus analysis (user profiling)
  • To enable collaborative working

Research Toolbox

Digitale Technologien ermöglichen den weltweiten Zugriff auf wichtige Quellenbestände und bieten enormes Potential für die mit Bildungsmedien arbeitende Forschung. Mit in der Computerlinguistik und der Informatik entwickelten computergestützten Analyseverfahren lassen sich große Textmengen nach wiederkehrenden Mustern, sprachlichen Besonderheiten oder bestimmten Themen durchsuchen und vergleichen.

Mit der Research Toolbox wird Forscher*innen, Entwickler*innen und Bibliothekar*innen ein funktional erweiterbares, digitales System an die Hand gegeben, das es ihnen erlaubt, digitale Texte zu projekt- bzw. themenspezifischen Korpora zusammenzustellen und diese mit Hilfe verschiedener Softwarekomponenten mit zum Teil maschinenlesbaren Informationen anzureichern und zu analysieren. Die Research Toolbox erlaubt zudem eine flexible Zusammenstellung der jeweils benötigten Techniken.

Die Toolbox wird seit 2018 gemeinsam von Informatiker*innen, Informations- und Geisteswissenschaftler*innen des GEI entwickelt und findet bereits im Rahmen laufender Forschungsprojekte Anwendung. Neben ausführlicher Dokumentation und Nutzungsbeispielen sind für die Zukunft eine mehrsprachige Benutzeroberfläche und die Integration weiterer Analysewerkzeuge geplant.

Durch die Implementierung eines Rollen- und Rechtemanagements in der Research Toolbox können zudem urheberrechtlich geschützte oder sensible Forschungsdaten auf die Plattform geladen, zu individuellen Projekten, bzw. Korpora zusammengestellt und bearbeitet werden. Eine Bearbeitung im Team oder eine Freigabe für die Nachnutzung durch Dritte wird ebenfalls ermöglicht.

Ziele

  • Bereitstellung einer geschützten und stabilen Infrastruktur für das Zusammenstellen und Bearbeiten digitaler Texte
  • Entwicklung von Werkzeugen zur linguistischen Vorverarbeitung/Annotation digitaler Texte unter Berücksichtigung der Besonderheiten von Bildungsmedien
  • Verfügbarbarmachung einer Umgebung, in der verschiedene Softwaremodule sowohl unabhängig voneinander genutzt als auch sinnvoll miteinander verknüpft werden können
  • Zurverfügungstellung von quantitativen Analysen und personalisierten Korpora-Analysen (Nutzerprofilierung)
  • Ermöglichung kollaborativen Arbeitens