Aurelia Streit

Aurelia Streit has worked as researcher at the Knowledge in Transition department at the Georg Eckert Institute since September 2019. She is a project coordinator for the  EU-led study on Palestinian Textbooks.

Aurelia Streit undertook her undergraduate studies in European Studies at Maastricht University from 2013 to 2016. She went on to study for a master’s degree in Public Policy and Human Development at the United Nations University - Maastricht School of Governance from 2016 to 2017  and completed a second master’s degree in Development Studies at the London School of Economics and Political Science. During her studies she specialised in the field of migration, focussing in particular on Syrian refugees in the Levante. She conducted field research for both her master’s degree dissertations, first in Lebanon on the changing gender roles of Syrian refugee women and secondly in Jordan on the integration of Syrian refugees in the Jordanian labour market.

During her studies, Aurelia Streit worked as a volunteer and intern for several organisations. She founded the student initiative ‘Refugee Project Maastricht’ in 2015, which continues to serve as an intercultural platform facilitating communication between refugees and students in the Netherlands. Furthermore, she served an internship as a parliamentary assistant in the UK House of Commons, working for the Shadow Immigration Minister, Afzal Khan and worked as a Carlo-Schmid fellow at the World Bank in Washington, DC.

Aurelia Streit

Aurelia Streit ist seit 1. September 2019 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Georg-Eckert Institut in der Abteilung Wissen im Umbruch und forscht gegenwärtig als Projektkoordinatorin im Projekt „EU-Studie zur Analyse palästinensischer Schulbücher“.

Davor studierte sie von 2013 bis 2016 den Bachelorstudiengang European Studies an der Maastricht University, sowie von 2016 bis 2017 den Masterstudiengang Public Policy and Human Development an der United Nations University-Maastricht School of Governance sowie von 2017 bis 2018 ihren zweitenMasterstudiengang Development Studies an der London School of Economics and Political Science. Im Laufe des Studiums spezialisierte sie sich auf Flucht und Migration, insbesondere zur Thematik syrischer Geflüchteten in der Levante. Für ihre beiden Masterarbeiten absolvierte sie Feldforschungen und ging zuerst in den Libanon um über die Veränderung der Frauenrolle syrischer Geflüchteter zu forschen und darauffolgend nach Jordanien zur Forschung bezüglich der Integration syrischer Geflüchteter in den jordanischen Arbeitsmarkt.

Während der Studienzeit übte sie mehrere Tätigkeiten in Form von Ehrenämtern und Praktika aus. Zum Beispiel gründete sie 2015 die bis heute bestehende Studierendenintiative Refugee Project Maastricht - eine interkulturelle Plattform, welche den Austausch zwischen Geflüchteten und Studierenden ermöglicht. Des Weiteren sammelte sie erste Arbeitserfahrungen als Praktikantin im Britischen Parlament im Büro des Schattenministers für Integration, MP Afzal Khan sowie als Carlo Schmid Stipendiatin bei der Weltbank in Washington, D.C.