Jasmin Troeger

Jasmin Troeger joined the Georg Eckert Institute in February 2019 as a research fellow in the Media Transformation department. She works on the DATAFIED (DATA For and In EDucation) project, which examines the school as a construct in processes of data manipulation.

She studied communication and media studies in the Department of Journalism and Communication research at Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media. In previous research projects Jasmin Troeger has investigated questions of media processing and impact as well as the ways social identity is shaped by media use. One focal point of her research has been an examination of the concept of spatial presence in virtual environments and its effects on real-world prosocial modes of behaviour.

Research Interests

  • Media reception and effect
  • New media and communication technology
  • Critical media theories
  • The digital shift
  • Quantitative and qualitative research methodologies in media and communication studies

Prior to studying and during her studies she held a number of different paid and voluntary positions. she volunteered, for example, as a reading mentor in a project to promote reading and speaking skills in children with literacy difficulties. She also worked as an assistant in the press office of the University of Music, Drama and Media and later at the Institute for Interdisciplinary Industrial Science at the Leibniz University Hanover.

Jasmin Troeger

Seit Februar 2019 ist Jasmin Troeger am Georg-Eckert-Institut als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in dem Projekt "DATAFIED (DATA For and In EDucation) - Die Konstruktion der Schule im Prozess der Datafizierung-" in der Abteilung Mediale Transformationen tätig.

Sie studierte Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaften am Institut für Journalistik und Kommunikationsforschung der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien in Hannover. In ihren bisherigen Forschungsprojekten befasste sich Jasmin Troeger unter anderem mit Fragen aus den Bereichen der Medienverarbeitung und -wirkung sowie der Modellierung sozialer Identität durch Mediennutzung. Insbesondere die Frage nach Auswirkung des Präsenzerlebens in virtuellen Umgebungen auf realweltliche prosoziale Handlungsstrukturen war Schwerpunkt ihres Forschungsinteresses.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

  • Medienrezeption und Medienwirkungen
  • Neue Medien- und Kommunikationstechnologien
  • Kritische Medientheorien
  • Digitaler Wandel
  • Quantitative und Qualitative Forschungsmethoden der Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaft

Vor und während des Studiums übte sie mehrere Nebentätigkeiten und Ehrenämter aus. Zum Beispiel war sie als Lesementorin in einem Projekt zur Förderung der Lese- und Sprachkompetenz von förderungsbedürftigen Kindern tätig. Zudem war sie als studentische Hilfskraft zuerst in der Pressestelle der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien und später an dem Institut für interdisziplinäre Arbeitswissenschaft der Leibniz Universität Hannover tätig.