Textbook of the Year

The Leibniz Institute for Educational Media | Georg Eckert Institute has presented the ‘Textbook of the Year’ award annually since 2012. With its partner the bpd (Federal Agency for Civic Education), the Institute is able, through this award, to recognise and honour publishers and authors who have developed and implemented innovative textbook concepts. The award should serve as a stimulus to wider debates on the subject of textbooks as well as raise awareness of the social significance of textbooks and advance the continuous development of educational materials. The award is under the patronage of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the German Länder. 

Awards are conferred on one publication each from three categories. Successful candidates are those deemed to be outstanding contemporary textbooks that demonstrate bold and innovative content choice, didactic methodologies and design as well as those that are able to satisfactorily meet demanding educational standards and offer a skill-centred approach to learning. Textbooks for primary schools, lower secondary schools and upper secondary schools are targeted in turn in a three-year cycle. The winning publications are determined during a two-step process involving a jury of experts from both academia and educational practice.

A joint project by